27 responses

  1. Sonja
    January 29, 2013

    I like the concept of the Puj, but my bathroom sink is way too small for it.
    For both of my babies, I ended up starting to use the regular tub as soon as they were big enough (4 months maybe?). I put in very little water – so little that when they’re laying in it, their ears don’t get wet. It’s not ideal, but it works.

  2. Amie
    January 29, 2013

    Whale tub. Seriously. We used it in the kitchen sink from birth until about 6 months when she got too splashy.

    http://www.amazon.com/Fisher-Price-Precious-Planet-Whale-Tub/dp/B0018Z8CN8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1359477467&sr=8-1&keywords=whale+tub

    • Isabel Kallman
      Isabel
      January 29, 2013

      Amie, thanks for the recommendation.

      I had a similar one for my son and then by the time my son could sit up unsupported, we moved to the regular bathtub with shallow water. For this post, we wanted baby bathtubs that could store away easily for Ilana’s apartment life. The Tummy Tub was the only one that veered from that, but I liked it because it could do double-duty in the bathroom to store bath toys without taking up too much floor space.

  3. Bethany
    January 29, 2013

    We got the Safer Bather bath pad, and it works GREAT in our kitchen sink. Our little guy loves it.

    http://www.amazon.com/Leachco-Safer-Bather-Infant-Bath/dp/B00005JIVI/ref=sr_1_1?s=baby-products&ie=UTF8&qid=1359481110&sr=1-1&keywords=safer+bather

    Haven’t tried it in the bathtub yet, though.

  4. Radiem
    January 29, 2013

    What about a simple (and cheap) sponge bath cushion? We just put one of these in the kitchen sink or bathtub, wet it down, and get to bathing. You can wring it out and throw it in the dryer before tossing it in a cabinet or closet for storage. We travel with ours as well. Here’s an example:

    http://www.amazon.com/Safety-1st-Comfy-Cushion-Green/dp/B0018ZVT4M/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1359481131&sr=8-1&keywords=bath+cushion

  5. Isabel Kallman
    Isabel
    January 29, 2013

    I love that everyone is chiming in with additional suggestions. THANK YOU! It makes for a better resource for other parents.

  6. Hillary
    January 29, 2013

    This thing has been a godsend for our family – stores easily (we just hang it up from a hook in the shower) and we can bathe the baby with his 3yo sister at the same time.

    http://www.amazon.com/PRI-Infant-Bath-Seat-White/dp/B000BXJZDY/ref=sr_1_10?s=baby-products&ie=UTF8&qid=1359486330&sr=1-10

  7. Ally
    January 29, 2013

    I love the blooming bath baby bath. It works so well in the sink. I had C-sections and it was awful to bend down. This held my baby so well in any sink and it kept the water in so I didn’t have to keep re-filling it. 

  8. Sarah
    January 29, 2013

    We LOVED the fold-up bathtub (I think it was even the same brand) for our babies from about 6 months to just under a year. They could sit up but couldn’t fall too far, and instead of having to put a few inches of water in the entire bathtub we only had to fill the little tub. We also felt it was sturdy and the cushy, air-filled bottom was nice. However, we had the luxury of just leaving it in the tub all of the time and didn’t actually fold it up every night.

  9. Christin
    January 29, 2013

    I had great luck with the puj tub from newborn to almost a year because I used it in the kitchen sink and have a faucet that comes out. It was like giving her a shower.

  10. Autumn
    January 29, 2013

    Agree with the Fisher price whale of a tub.  Until she was about 9 months old, I just put it on our kitchen table and did her bath standing up (much eaiser for me. . . filled it with an empty ice cream bucket from the tap and dumped it in the kitchen sink after)

    Still using it for her at 17 months now in the big tub because it needs so much less water to fill.  She’s a little peanut of a thing (still in 12 month footie pjs) so I guess that lets me get a way with it.

    And it’s great for doing the strip soak for my cloth diaper inserts. . . multitasker! 

  11. Marlen
    January 29, 2013

    We don’t have a bath tub in our house, so we needed a creative solution once little one outgrew her infant tub. We ended up with this: http://www.amazon.com/Prince-Lionheart-Flexibath-Foldable-Bathtub/dp/B004NRNSNC and LOVE it. 

    She was about 5 months when we started using it and she’ll be able to use it until she’s about 3 or so and we can just let her shower. Folds up super-slim, is light and we travel with it, because she doesn’t like the big hotel tub.

  12. Martine
    January 29, 2013

    We never bought a baby bath tub for our son.  Instead, I would get in the tub with him until he was old enough to sit in the bath on his own.  It was wonderful and relaxing for everyone.  :)

  13. IrishCream
    January 29, 2013

    I like the lazy parents’ method: don’t bathe your baby that much. Seriously, until they can sit up on their own, they are probably not getting very dirty. We did sponge baths most of the time until our girls could sit up well enough to go in the big tub (with mom or dad having a hand on them at all times until they were really stable). We dunked them in a baby bucket tub every couple of weeks for the first few months, but that was kind of a pain, and they never liked it. You can justify it by telling yourself that it’s better for their delicate newborn skin (true!).

  14. Myriam
    January 30, 2013

    I used a cheaper version of the whale tub for te first few bath that we put on the dinner table. Around 3 months, I switched to a bath sling. You can hang it to dry and store, and it’s quite confortable when used with a non-slip mat.http://www.amazon.com/Summer-Infant-Fold-Store-Sling/dp/B000JVVXMO/ref=sr_1_89?s=baby-products&ie=UTF8&qid=1359554248&sr=1-89&keywords=baby+bath

    • Myriam
      January 30, 2013

      typos… whale tub for the first few months that we put…

  15. Laura
    January 30, 2013

    We bathed our newborn in her foam changer which we still use for changing diapers 2 years later: http://www.babysmartusa.com/changer.asp. Multitasker!! We’be probably gotten more use out of that thing than any other piece of baby gear. Sadly currently unavailable on Amazon but you can read lots of reviews there.

  16. allison
    January 31, 2013

    We got two tubs handed down to us, one was the mesh-and-wire style (so not really a tub but a support) and a Safety First plastic collapsible one, both of which we’d just stick in the bottom of the bathtub (so we had to bend over). I guess the Safety First could have gone on a counter top to avoid bending over. Both worked pretty well. I used the Safety First one mostly when I was bathing her myself. But what we did more often than not was have one of us get in the tub with her and hold her while the other did the bathing. It seemed to be the easiest.

  17. Natalie
    February 1, 2013

    Sigh. Or? Jump in the shower with baby. Both my kids started showering at about 1 week – no gimmicks, gadgets needed. 

    • Holly
      February 6, 2013

      We’ve been giving our baby showers since he was just a week or two old, too, BUT, he LOVES bath time so we want him to have that experience occasionally, too.

  18. Tara
    February 4, 2013

    We’ve found it hard to find a tub for our preemies too. In the end I’ve just cradeled them in my arms in a real bath tub with me and bathed them one at a time. They really seem to like it. They even get a look of zen. Plus, this way mommy gets bath time too ;)

  19. shayne
    February 4, 2013

    We have the summer infant tub, and while we had the same issues with it when we first started using it, everything seemed to break in after awhile and it was no longer difficult to click the legs into place and I guess once the rubber softened up, we no longer had issues with the plug either. I will say that after a month or two we stopped inflating the tub. There’s really no real need to. 

    My son is eight months and we just moved him to the big tub a couple weeks ago. Considering the short amount of time we used it and the convenience of the folding feature, and the price, I’m glad we chose it.

  20. Megan
    February 6, 2013

    A well-cleaned kitchen sink (with a sprayer) once they can sit up, with a towel in the bottom for traction. Before then, I just sponged her because really, how dirty is an immobile baby going to get whose tushie gets washed multiple times a day anyway? ;)

  21. Heather
    February 13, 2013

    The Primo EuroBath is awesome.  It is inexpensive ($20-$25) and has two sides: one for infants and one for toddlers.  The infant side keeps little babies perfectly cradled, which was a godsend for me because I could not hold onto that slippery little newborn body for anything and I was paranoid I was going to drop her when we tried the sink.  The only downside is it is kind of large, if space is at a premium.  But on the plus side, we used it until my daughter was 2!  We really got our money’s worth and I’m glad we didn’t bother with something that only would have lasted 5-6 months (like most other baby gear).

  22. Ile
    February 27, 2013

    Hello,
    Thank you for taking the time to test and review baby items, which as a new mom it truly comes in handy. Have you tried the baby bath from bloomingbath.com? I am just curious to know if it works since I have a 4 months old baby who’s 15 pounds and it would be nice to have other options. Congrats on your baby and I wish you a good day.
    Sincerely,
    Ile

    • Isabel Kallman
      Isabel
      February 27, 2013

      Hi Ile, we didn’t for this review. But as you can see above in the comments, someone else did. We don’t have the resources (yet!) to try out every product so we try our best and hope our really smart readers share with us their personal experiences. :)

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

Back to top
mobile desktop